QUAE ORIGO?
QUI ANTECESSOR?

qoqa.de

Genealogical Magazine with Database

D. Martin Luther

Truckenbrodt, Druckenbrod, Trockenbrot


Webmag Nr. 1

 
 
 
Front page
 
Database
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Die 'ACTA LUTHERORUM'
in Leipzig
 

Sophie Charlotte Luther (*1700), a daughter of Johann Martin Luther, the senior of the monastry in Zeitz, descending from his first marriage with Christina Elisabeth Leyser, a grand granddaughter of Lukas Cranach, married Johann Christian Gruber March 1729.

 

Grubner (*1698) wasn't only lawyer in Zeitz, in fact he was engaged furthermore in historiography. Therefore you can understand, why he has brought together all documents to one file, that were owned by his father-in-law, particularly the documents coming from the inheritance of Paul Luther, the youngest son of the Reformator.

 

To the older documents belong some letters of Melanchthon to Luther, the passport of Luther for his journey to Worms issued by Duke Georg, and the bill of sale concerning Bruno Brauer's house in Wittenberg, sold to Martin Luther, the university certificate, Johann Friedrich's letter of benefit to Johann Luther concerning a granting of leave. Furthermore you find the original document concerning the contract of inheritance of Martin Luther's children, on 5. April 1554 undersigned and sealed by Johannes Schneideweynn, Philippus Melanchthon and Ambros Reiter, as well as the brother Jacob of D. Martin Luther, those seal here doesn't show, as partly states falsely, a crossbow. The seal contains a split sign, where you can find in one part two round of symbols.

 

In the year 1557 Johannes and Paul Luther sealed the sale of the small "Brauer's house" with a signet, similar the signet of their father (heart and cross in a rosette), but their brother Martin sealed by a rosette with heart, however without cross. - The signet of the son Martin of the Reformator, seems to be adopted later by his nephew Johann Ernst, the son of Paul Luther, because he sealed with this signet following documents. However his brothers Johann Friedrich and Johann Joachim sealed with heart and cross, like you can see at the composition concerning the inheritance from the year 1593 after the death of their father Paul Luther.

 

An essential content of the 'Acta' are the documents of Paul Luther, to that belong some anatomic tables, certificates, also announcements of lectures, documents concerning a fiefdom, and the marriage contract between his daughter Anna and Nikolaus Marschall von Bieberstein, as well as notes concerning his son-in-law Simon Gottsteig.

 

The correspondence with Paul's son Johann Ernst until 1580, who stayed in Wittenberg to prepare his studies, you can find in copies. In the year 1582 the court counsellor and professor Beust from Dresden reports concerning the progress of Johann Luther in his law studies.

 

A proof for existing family connections, that were remained, is a note of Johann Ernst Luther about Nicolaus Böhme, the husband of the daughter of Johannes Luther, concerning borrowed books, which unfortunately carries no date.

 

The youngest document in the 'Acta' is a letter from the year 1673. Then Christian Gruber added still a genealogy, concerning to the descendance of the son Paul of the Reformator. As well as a notarized copy of the letter D. Martin Luther from the year 1533 to Hans Löser, wherein he asked him to be the godfather of his youngest son.

 

When David Richter studied in Jena about 1717, and certainly affected by professor Danz there, a son-in-law of the Baruthian counsellor of justice Gabriel Luther, and when he started with the elaboration for his 'Genealogia Lutherorum', he came in contact with the Luther family living in Zeitz. As well as he came in contact with professor Carl Friedrich Luther, living in Kiel, who provided him some other information.

 

The lawyer Grubner from Zeitz makes available his collection of documents for David Richter, that therefore became an essential basic for his work, in which he has reprinted a part of the documents.

 

That 'Acta Lutherorum' remained in family property of the descendants of Paul Luther, until its came testamentaryly in the year 1839 by Dr. Heinrich Luther to Library of the Council in Leipzig. Today you find the 'Acta' in the manuscript department of the university library in Leipzig.

 

And there is to solve a puzzle. The male family line of Paul Luther should be died out 1759. But how is Dr. Heinrich Luther related to this family?

 
 
 
LUTHERORUM AUTOGRAPHA
et exparte Apographa
 

The daughter of Johann Martin Luther, Christiana Sophie, born in Zeitz on 5.8.1705, married in fourth marriage the magister and minister from Weickelsdorf, Johann Gottlieb Heuckenrodt, which was also adjunct ( assistant pastor) of the parish in Weißenfels. The daughter Wilhelmine born about 1755, which married the pastor Beyer from Wittenberg, was a descendent of this marriage.

 

From the inheritance of Wilhelmine Beyer received the donation Prussian Culture Possession the “Lutherorum Autographa et exparte Apographa” (manusripts Ms. germ. Fol. 45).

 

This small collection of documents, until now considered scarcely in the genealogical research, contains among other things some original letters Martin Luther's and his son Paul, as well as predominantly documents of the grandchild Johann Ernst Luther in Zeitz.

 

The descendants of Paul Luther, the youngest son of the Reformator, are explored widely. The descendants of the male family line are, unlike the eldest son Johannes, died out probably with the brother of Chritiana Sophie, Martin Gottlieb Luther, in the year 1759. - The “Lutherorum Autographa” gives possible starting points for the exploration of more descendants of the Luther family, therefore following [in the main part, right column] you find a view of the documents, you can find here. [according to Günter Luther]

 
 
 
Web www.qoqa.de
     

Sources for the Luther-Genealogy

     
 

Content of the ACTA LUTHERORUM
from the Libary of the University Leipzig - from T. O. Weigel, Leipzig -
quod vide the article in the lefthand side

 
 
LUTHERORUM AUTOGRAPHA et exparte Apographa
 
     
Back to page 5 you come here...  
     
 
 

Copyright 2007  Wolfgang Appell

QUAE ORIGO?
QUI ANTECESSOR?

qoqa.de

Genealogisches Magazin mit Datenbank

D. Martin Luther

Truckenbrodt, Druckenbrod, Trockenbrot


Webmag Nr. 1

 
 
 
Titelseite
 
Datenbank
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Die 'ACTA LUTHERORUM'
in Leipzig
 

Sophie Charlotte Luther (*1700), eine Tochter von Johann Martin Luther, dem Senior des Stiftes Zeitz aus einer ersten Ehe mit Christina Elisabeth Leyser, einer Ururgroßenkelin von Lucas Cranach, heiratete im März 1729 Johann Christian Grubner.

Grubner (*1698) war nicht nur Advokat in Zeitz, vielmehr befasste er sich darüber hinaus mit Geschichtsschreibung. So ist es erklärlich, dass er im Besitz seines Schwiegervaters befindliche Urkunden und Briefe, insbesondere aus dem Nachlass von Paul Luther, jüngstem Sohn des Reformators, in einem Aktenband zusammengefasst hat.

Zu den älteren Unterlagen gehören einige Briefe Melanchthons an D. Martin Luther, der Geleitbrief Herzog Georgs für Luthers Reise im Jahre 1521 nach Worms und die Kaufurkunde Brauers neben dem schwarzen Kloster in Wittenberg gelegenen Häuschen betreffend, und das Universitätszeugnis sowie die Dienstbeurlaubung durch Herzog Johann Friedrich dem Mittleren für Johannes Luther, dem ältesten Sohne Luthers. Ferner befindet sich darin die Originalurkunde des Erbvergleiches zwischen den nachgelassenen Kindern des Reformators nach dem Tode ihrer Mutter Catharina von Bora vom 5. April 1554 mit den Unterschriften von Johannes Schneidewynn, Philipp Melanchthon und Ambrosius Reiter, sowie dem Bruder Jacob von D. Martin Luther, dessen hierauf befindliches Siegel nicht, wie teilweise fälschlich behauptet, eine Armbrust zeigt; das Siegel enthält ein zweigeteiltes Schild, bei dem in einem Teil sich zwei runde Symbole befinden.

Den Verkauf des kleinen Hauses in Wittenberg, 'Brauers Bude', siegelten im Jahre 1557 Johannes und Paul Luther mit einem der Petschaft des Vaters gleichenden Symbol (Herz und Kreuz in einer Rosette), ihr Bruder Martin jedoch setzte als Siegel die Rosette mit Herz, aber ohne Kreuz neben seine Unterschrift.- Die letztere Petschaft des Sohnes Martin vom Reformator scheint sein Neffe, der Sohn von Paul Luther, Johann Ernst später übernommen zu haben, denn er siegelte damit nachfolgende Urkunden, seine Brüder Johann Friedrich und Johann Joachim führen jedoch die Rosette mit Herz und Kreuz im Siegel, wie diese auf dem Erbvergleich nach dem Tod ihres Vaters Paul Luther vom Jahre 1593 zu sehen sind.

Einen wesentlichen Inhalt der 'Acta' bilden aber Paul Luthers Unterlagen, zu denen einige anatomische Tafeln, Diplome, und auch Ankündigungen von Vorlesungen, Lehnsbriefe und den Ehevertrag für seine Tochter Anna mit Nikolaus Marschall von Bieberstein, sowie Aufzeichnungen, seinen Schwiegersohn Simon Gottsteig betreffend, gehören. Der Briefwechsel mit Pauls Sohn Johann Ernst bis 1580, der sich zu seinen Studienvorbereitungen in Wittenberg aufhielt, ist in Abschriften erhalten. Im Jahre 1582 berichtet Hofrat Professor Beust aus Dresden über die Fortschritte von Johann Ernst Luther in seinem Jurastudium.

Ein Beweis für bestehen gebliebene Familienbindungen ist eine Notiz von Johann Ernst Luther an Nicolaus Böhme, dem Ehemann der Tochter seines Onkels Johannes Luther, über überlassenene Bücher, die leider kein Datum trägt.

Die jüngste in der Akte befindliche Unterlage ist ein Brief aus dem Jahre 1673. Christian Grubner fügte dann noch eine Stammtafel, bezogen auf die Nachkommenschaft des Sohnes Paul vom Reformator , mit ein, sowie hierzu beglaubigte Briefcopie des Schreibens von D. Martin Luther aus dem Jahre 1533 an Hans Löser, mit dem er diesen zum Paten für seinen jüngsten Sohn bittet.

Als David Richter um 1717 in Jena studierte und wohl beeinflusst durch den dortigen Professor Danz, einem Schwiegersohn des Bayreuther Justizrates Gabriel Luther, mit den Ausarbeitungen für seine 'Genealogia Lutherorum' begann, kam er später darüber hinaus mit der in Zeitz lebenden Lutherfamilie ebenso in Kontakt, wie wohl auch mit dem in Kiel lebenden Professor Carl Friedrich Luther, von denen er Informationen bezogen hat.

Der Notar Grubner aus Zeitz stellte David Richter seine Aktensammlung zur Verfügung, die somit eine wesentliche Grundlage für sein Werk wurde, in welchem er einen großen Teil der Urkunden auch nachgedruckt hat.

Diese 'Acta Lutherorum' blieb im Familienbesitz von Nachkommen Paul Luthers, bis sie im Jahre 1839 testamentarisch durch einen Dr. Heinrich Luther der Ratsbibliothek in Leipzig überschrieben worden ist; sie liegt heute in der Handschriften-Abteilung der dortigen Universitätsbibliothek.

Laut Literatur sind die Nachkommen Paul Luthers in männlicher Linie 1759 ausgestorben. Wie aber ist dann Dr. Heinrich Luther einzuordnen?

 
 
 
LUTHERORUM AUTOGRAPHA
et exparte Apographa
 

Die Tochter Johann Martin Luthers, Christiana Sophie, geboren in Zeitz am 5.8.1705, verheiratete sich in vierter Ehe mit dem Magister und Pfarrer aus Weickelsdorf, Johann Gottlieb Heuckenrodt, der auch Adjunkt der Ephorie in Weißenfels war. Dieser Ehe entstammt die um 1755 geborene Tochter Wilhelmine, die den Prediger Beyer aus Wittenberg heiratete.

Aus dem Nachlass von Wilhelmine Beyer erhielt die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz die 'Lutherorum Autographa et exparte Apographa' (Handschriften Ms. germ. Fol. 45) . Diese bisher in der genealogischen Forschung wenig beachtete kleine Urkundensammlung enthält u.a. einige Originalbriefe Martin Luthers und seines Sohnes Paul, sowie überwiegend Schriftstücke des Enkels Johann Ernst Luther in Zeitz.

Die Nachkommenschaft von Paul Luther, dem jüngsten Sohn des Reformators, ist weitgehend erforscht. Der Mannesstamm dieser Nachkömmlinge ist im Gegensatz zu dem des älteren Sohnes Johannes von D. Martin Luther, mit dem Bruder von Christiana Sophie, Martin Gottlieb Luther, im Jahre 1759 wohl ausgestorben. - Die 'Lutherorum Autographa' gibt mögliche Ansatzpunkte zur Erforschung weiterer Abstammungen der Luther-Familie, weswegen nachfolgend [rechts im Hauptteil] ein Abriss der hierin befindlichen Urkunden gegeben werden soll. [so Günter Luther]

 
 
 
Web www.qoqa.de
     

Quellen zur Luthergenealogie

     
 

Inhalt der ACTA LUTHERORUM
aus der Universitätsbibliothek zu Leipzig - nach T. O. Weigel, Leipzig -
siehe auch Artikel am linken Rand

 
Brief an Martin Luthers Frau
 
LUTHERORUM AUTOGRAPHA et exparte Apographa
 
     
Zurück auf Seite 5 geht es hier...  
     
 
 

Copyright 2008  Wolfgang Appell